Monday, January 6, 2014

Councilman Mike Suarez Elected as HART Board Chair

Councilman Mike Suarez
During its regular meeting today, the HART Board elected Councilman Mike Suarez as Chair, Steve Polzin, PhD, was re-elected Vice Chairman and Temple Terrace Councilman Eddie Vance as Secretary of the HART Board of Directors for 2014.      

"It is a great privilege to be elected as HART Board Chairman and continue working alongside the dedicated Board members to serve our customers, employees and the community." Said Chairman Councilman Mike Suarez after the vote. "I look forward to working together to operate a safe, reliable, efficient and fiscally sound transit system that contributes to the economic success and quality of life of this region and Hillsborough County."
Councilman Suarez has been a Board member since April 2011 and has served as HART Board Secretary since 2012. Councilman Suarez is a third generation resident of Tampa, with deep roots in West Tampa. 

He has provided service to many government and non-profit agencies, including his current term as District 1 At-Large Tampa City Council, President of the Guardian Ad Litem Guild (renamed Voices for Children), served on the subcommittee for Urban Enterprises Initiatives and was Chairman of the Water Resource subcommittee for the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce. He has also been a Board Member and past President of the Insurance Agents of Greater Tampa, a Board member of the Centro Asturiano de Tampa and a Board member of the Macfarlane Park PTA. 

Councilman Suarez has been married for 20 years to Laura Ankenbruck and they have three sons, Vincent, Anthony and Nicholas.    

The HART Board is responsible for setting policy and making decisions for the Authority on matters ranging from system operations, service planning, fare structure, finance, customer service, and is made up of 13 volunteers who are appointed to represent Hillsborough County (seven seats), City of Tampa (three seats), State of Florida (two seats) and City of Temple Terrace (one seat). Officers of the HART Board (chair, vice chair and secretary) are elected every year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments to this blog are moderated by HART staff. Constructive comments are welcome; any obscene, threatening, or otherwise inappropriate comments will be deleted before posting. Questions about specific service ("is my bus on time?") cannot be answered here, and should be directed to the HARTinfo Line at (813) 254-HART (4278). General questions may be addressed in future posts.